+5
alexjanosik
BarrileteCosmico
neuro11
billy_gr
The Franchise
9 posters

Go down

Why Atletico's gameplan is something we need to figure out Empty Why Atletico's gameplan is something we need to figure out

Post by The Franchise Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:54 am

Atletico and PSG did and have to me, done something fairly unique against us. Now, im no expert and some of the elements of what I have hear may be slightly off, im sure Diego Simone would find a few things he would correct. But the basic idea I think I have close to correct.

They have found a way to play 2 forwards without sacrificing the midfield against us. Man Utd tried and failed in this method in the 11' final, but today I believe Atletico for sure and based on last season PSG have found an ideal way to combat us without (crucial point) sacrificing themselves. Its a narrow and deep lying defence and midfield with two forwards who are willing to work fairly hard defensively. They do add in pressing, at goal kicks, deep throw in's and any loose passes from defence into fullbacks.

This is not to be confused with Madrid or Bayern's tactics vs us, they contain similar elements but there are some key differences.

First, here we have us in a typical set up we see when the ball is in defence.

Why Atletico's gameplan is something we need to figure out AbFmBjOabI

As you can see, Pique on the ball and the opponent (lets call them Atleti) have formed a 4411 with a midfield very narrow and tight together. Their objective is to not allow passes directly into Messi or a dropping forward, in this case Alexis. While doing so, they have covered Busquets completely, not by 1, but 2 players. He has a striker who closes the angle for a pass from Pique, while behind him there is a second striker who plays in between Busquets and Xavi, ready to move to whoever. The space they give up is to Dani Alves, the other centerback and Jordi Alba. I will get to what happens when they receive a pass later.