50p Coin designed to help explain Offside Rule

2 posters

Go down

50p Coin designed to help explain Offside Rule Empty 50p Coin designed to help explain Offside Rule

Post by Guest Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:03 am

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/olympics/8992032/London-2012-Olympics-50p-coin-helps-explain-footballs-offside-rule.html

The coin, designed by London journalist Neil Wolfson, clearly explains via the use of a helpful diagram when a player is offside and when they are not.

This may go some way to providing football fans with a succinct way of explaining a rule that often baffles newcomers to the sport.

"I'm a sports journalist by trade and I saw this opportunity as a natural extension of what I do," said Wolfson. "This design itself is just a case of lateral thinking.

"I'm a football fan, I followed the Premier League since its inception and if I had 50p for every time someone had asked me to explain the offside rule I'd be a very rich man.

"When the coin is in circulation I hope people like it and I hope people are able to use it to explain the offside rule."

---

Nearly 30,000 designs were submitted to the Royal Mint following the launch of a public competition in January 2009 and the final 29 were selected following months of debate among the chosen panel of experts and officials.

The winning designs include images of all the official Olympic sports such as athletics, gymnastics and swimming as well as Paralympic sports like boccia and goalball.

Designers of the winning coins include a policeman from Manchester, a part-time chef from Cornwall and a radiologist from Stoke, while the collection also makes history for featuring the first designs from a child and a teenager.

London 2012 chairman Lord Coe said: "Coins are a part of the fabric of our daily life, so to have a range of coins designed specifically to celebrate London 2012 is a huge honour, made all the more special by the fact that members of the public have designed them.