Some basic football questions from a noob:)

+17
CBarca
RedOranje
FennecFox7
REWB
mr-r34
chinomaster182
Lex
justdoit_
barca 2011
rwo power
Ganso
sportsczy
Jay29
RealGunner
Die Borussen
Onyx
scotladd
21 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Some basic football questions from a noob:) Empty Some basic football questions from a noob:)

Post by scotladd Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:54 pm

I won't go into the whole story of my noobness (posted it in the introduction thread) to avoid redundancy, but suffice to say I am pretty new to the sport, as you will see from the questions below. I appreciate you taking the time to read them and respond if you choose:)

1) I was told MLS has a pretty restrictive salary cap which prohibits American teams from aquiring top tier talent. How true is this, and if so, why do they have a salary cap?

2) I see all the leagues across the world, why exactly is it that there isn't one big league? One where Barcelona and Liverpool would play each other every year? Or Real Madrid would travel to the US an play the Galaxy? I understand the Champion's Cup accomplishes this for the top teams, but if you dont qualify you don't play obviously.

3) I hear about different "levels" of leagues (MLS, La Liga etc.) is the competition really THAT different? If so why is there such a competitive gap between "professional" leagues?

4) In American sports, we have "developmental" leagues (minor league baseball, basketball developmental leagues etc.) are there such things in football? Leagues and teams that exist solely for the talent development of more senior leagues?

5) Why is it that America just does not contribute top tier talent to professional football? I know there are a handful of players who did make the transition internationally, but why is it so disproportionate?