+5
urbaNRoots
Sushi Master
Jay29
EL Patron
Wilson37
9 posters

Go down

Where is our possession ? Empty Where is our possession ?

Post by Wilson37 Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:54 pm

There are some changes in our play this season.. I am no expert in this.. Most of us thought it had made the team better.. But in the past we had a definite gamestyle and players suited to the system.. I cant understand the roles of many players in the current system.. I still believe we thrive on possession and midfield..

Stats may say that we have the two best midfielders in the league in Arteta and Cazorla.. But i feel we have always struggled to create enough chances or goals.. Forget goals scored against Southampton and Coventry with terrible defence.. Most of our goals came from counterattacks.. and whatever few chances we create get wasted by poor finishing of Giroud and Gervinho..

The midfield before this season..
RIP
Cashri/Benayoun - Cesc/Rosicky - Rosicky/Arshavin/Walcott
Wilshere - Song (& Diaby)
they were technically very good.. good passers.. better dribblers.. had better creativity combined.. holds possession under pressure.. and does not give away the ball easily.. cant remember any teams dominating the midfield against us except Barcelona..

Now..
Giroud
Podolski -Cazorla - Gervinho/Ox
Arteta - Ramsey/Coquelin (& Diaby)
technically weaker.. cant hold possession against pressure.. how many times we see us passing the ball back to the goalkeeper... entirely dependent on Cazorla to create a chance.. have never seen us doing this in the past.. neither we create many chances against teams parking the bus like Sunderland, Stoke, etc.. nor we can hold possession even against lower teams who apply slightest of pressure like against West Ham, Norwich.. and even at Anfield they had more possession..
we are not able to play through the centre and are forced to play through the wings which was never our strength..